Pack as Light as Possible (But Don’t Forget Anything)

Our friends recently came back into our lives, after the birth of a new baby girl and a month-long trip to Israel. We were so excited to meet the baby, reunite with our friends, and spend some time at the beach enjoying the 80 degree weather in March.

I had to smile when my friend sent me the following text:

“Now to figure out how to do it. 🙂 I haven’t been to the beach yet with three…any tips?”

I remember when just going to the pediatrician with one infant that slept most of the day seemed like an impossible feat. Now I find myself giving advice on how to get out the house with three children…and to the beach no less!   Wow, I have come a long way.

I replied:

“Lol pack as light as possible but don’t forget anything.”

I have learned to streamline all of our stuff into a small diaper bag and a lunch bag. So far it hasn’t let me down.  But when I saw our friends schlepping across the parking lot with smiles and an insane amount of stuff, my smile only grew. It was a picture of a family growing; it’s branches spreading, leaves sprouting, and reach a bit closer to the sky. That tiny little head poking out of the turquoise baby wrap like a turtle emerging cautiously from its shell, immediately brought back memories of learning how to do everything with my Moby wrap on.

We hugged and caught up on each other’s lives. The kids, shy at first warmed up quickly to one another, while Peter enjoyed his independence.

The boys found the coolest insect I have seen in a long time. I researched online and identified it as an American Oil Beetle (worth a Google image search). No information on whether it is toxic to eat, but thankfully I put my camera down in time to save Peter who was desperately trying to taste the odd creature.

The boys love being outside.

The beach is slowly starting to fill up during the day, though it is nothing compared to the droves that will flock there this summer. But still we felt sort of like we were on our own private island.

For now, we are loving the stress free fun on the beach. No fear of losing the kids in the crowds (remember we have 6 kids between us). The boys just frolicked and chased the waves out and ran away as they returned.

Poor Simon tripped on one run. But it wasn’t long before he was back at it again.

     

When I met my friend for the first time, back in September, it was at the beach. It is amazing to see how much they have all grown. Yet Peter was still in the wrap, this time not because he couldn’t yet walk, but for his late morning nap. I couldn’t help, but look at out six children and want to think ahead to next year. But, what good would that do.

We are here now. And when you live in the moment you must pack light, and try hard to pay attention. Because who would want to forget even a tiny sliver of these moments?

One thought on “Pack as Light as Possible (But Don’t Forget Anything)

  1. goralelana says:

    thanks for sharing this. we had a great time as well. idan has already asked when we will meet with you again…. and thanks for watching idan while i was dealing with yuval’s breakdown. it was nice to be able to focus all my attention to him while knowing idan is having a good time and is safe with you. see you soon 🙂

Leave a comment