Volcanic Eruptions of Mass Destruction

Let’s face it, volcanoes are cool.

The explosion, the smoke, the lava, the ground quaking in fear….are all great fodder for the imagination.  Making a volcano for a science fair project has become a cliché’ in American culture.  But cliché’s become cliché’s for a reason. The volcano is a tried and true standby for quick and easy scientific fun.

Who better than preschoolers to reap the benefits?

This experiment can be done using your imagination, a paper cup, baking soda, and vinegar. However, I was looking for something a bit more dramatic to end “V” week with a bang. So I searched online for some ideas and found this design.

http://www.create-kids-crafts.com/playdough-volcano.html

The design was exactly what I was looking for and as a bonus it called for simple materials that I had in the house  (tin foil, paper plate, cookie sheet, and play dough). I had a bunch of drying homemade play dough in bags that I couldn’t bring myself to throw away. So, it was a perfect chance to use it up.

I pretty much built the volcano myself, since Clark was freaking out about the impending explosion. He literally thought our house was going to be consumed by hot lava, fire, and explosions. I spent the whole time assuaging his fears and assuring him that it was a harmless experiment.

Clark used his Spider-sense button (a sticker on his hand) to make sure all was clear, before he agreed to help decorate the volcano.

I seized the opportunity to squeeze in a bit more science by giving the boys dinosaurs to decorate the volcano. We talked about how one theory of what happened to the dinosaurs was a massive volcanic eruption. Though, this set Clark to worrying again, and he hoarded his favorite ones out of harm’s way.

Miraculously, I managed to set this whole thing up before my husband left for work. It was great to have him there to take part in the fun.

Rather than save his plastic creatures, Simon delighted in dropping them into the “hot lava”. ( I better keep an eye on him!)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Volcanic Eruptions of Mass Destruction

Leave a comment